29
Jun
07

Our mini-vacation at the camp

Although we had all originally planned a huge Arkansas vacation for the past week and a half (like last year’s), due to circumstances with Dad, that was cancelled.  However, Adam & I did decide to take a mini-trip to my aunt & uncle’s camp on the Sabine River for a few days to get away.  He had taken off a total of 8 days for the trip & so we thought we’d might as well make use of some of it! 

As you will see below, the mimosa trees just grew wild all over their property & I had so much fun taking pictures of them.  The husband made me leave all my “big fun” cameras at home so I could just “relax” for a change.  That always makes me laugh b/c that’s what I do to relax as well as work, it’s just two different types of photography!  🙂 

So I left my big stuff @ home & just brought my point & shoot camera.  And this just goes to show that you don’t have to have big equipment to get fun stuff!

The mimosas at sunset.

1910lj-w.jpg

1912lj-w.jpg

A Mimosa flower… this tiny thing was about a 1/2 inch wide (shown here about 4xs it’s actual size)

1931lj-w.jpg

A view of the camp from the canoe.  You can see the steep walkway to access the canoe, the awesome deck for a good breakfast & the super comfy hammock. 

2053lj-w.jpg

Adam revvin’ up the pit for the “peice de la resistance”… our 24 hour marinaded pork chops.  (Did you know that charcoal gets hotter than gas?!  lol  AND that that means your meat cooks a heck of a lot quicker, too?!  lol  Let’s just say we had some delicious “well done” chops.)

1892lj-w.jpg

1935lj-w.jpg

He got a lot of fishing in as well. 

1902lj-w.jpg

Meanwhile, I just played with the camera & the trees.

1951lj-w.jpg

1946lj-w.jpg

1941lj-w.jpg

Another cooking shot… check out Adam’s camping attire:  Jeff Gordon fishing hat, old t-shirt, green shorts, socks, & his mud boots… camping is fun!

1962lj-w.jpg

Mom, Chase & Alonna drove up and spent the day with us.  Adam’s prepped lunch on the grill again… this time went a little better. 

1963lj-w.jpg

More of the trees.  Hey- there’s not a lot around up there.  Trees are about it!

1938lj-w.jpg

Loved this in black & white, too.

1938bwlj-w.jpg

1953lj-w.jpg

We canoed every evening, sometimes fishing, too.  This place is like Heaven… around every bend in the river is another wild & unihabited beach.  It was so fun to dock out little Indian canoe & walk in the white powdery sand – right here in LA!

2015lj-w.jpg

The crystal clear water

2050lj-w.jpg

2021lj-w.jpg

2028lj-w.jpg

I figured I’d post just one of me seeing there’s so many of Adam… that’s one of the “downfalls” I guess of marrying a photographer!  So here’s me on a beach with my cover-up & fun floppy hat.  (All images taken in bathing suit attire of ANY of us- Lonni, too!- have been withheld to protect the innocent.  🙂

2034lj-w.jpg

2031lj-w.jpg

2036lj-w.jpg

2037lj-w.jpg

We found tons of deer tracks, turtle tracks, coyote tracks, and bird tracks.  These two were some of my favorites.

2040lj-w.jpg

2045lj-w.jpg

And finally, the very last part of the sunset every night was gorgeous.  Adam would continue to fish & I would lay in the hammock until it was finally time to go in.  We were so blessed with amazing weather for our entire mini-trip!

1923lj-w.jpg

1922lj-w.jpg

7 Responses to “Our mini-vacation at the camp”


  1. 1 Bridgette Chapman
    July 2, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    I love that you show everyone pieces of your life 🙂

  2. 2 Connie
    April 3, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    …wandered on your blog by accident.
    Love your photography

  3. September 11, 2014 at 12:44 am

    Firsst offf I would like to say excellent blog!
    I had a quyick quuestion which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I wass interested to find out how you ceter yourself and clear your head
    before writing. I’ve had ifficulty clearing my thoughts in getting my thought out.

    I do enjoy writying but it just seems like the first 10 too 15 minutes are generally lost jujst trying to
    figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips?
    Manyy thanks!

  4. September 13, 2014 at 5:59 pm

    Hi there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems
    with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losung months of hard work due to no
    back up. Do you have any solutions to prevent hackers?

  5. September 15, 2014 at 12:35 am

    Thanks for sharing your info. I really appreciate
    your efforts and I will be waiting foor your next post thanks once again.

  6. September 23, 2014 at 9:29 am

    At this time I am going away to do my breakfast, afterward having my breakfast coming yet again to read other news.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 175,395 visits

a

June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

